SHAMROCK CENTRE  Killarney Minor Hockey  
Killarney Minor Hockey is a non-profit organization committed to developing young hockey players at all ages and talent levels.
 
For anyone new to town, there is always an information, organizational, and registration evening early in September of each year. There is always advertising around town and in the local paper before the evening to give everyone a chance to attend.
 
The executive is comprised of volunteers (sometimes elected) that manage the hockey for the duration of the season. The executive decides on things such as setting registration fees, designating minor hockey ice slots, and helping with the general running of the program.
 
The program begins with Initiation (ages 5 and 6) and continues until age 14. All players, both boys and girls, are eligible to play. There are girls teams available, but some girls opt to play their early years with the boys and that is also acceptable.
 
All Killarney Minor Hockey teams, except for Initation, who play a limited amount of exhibition games due to the young age, play in the Southwest League. The teams travel to surrounding towns such as Boissevain, Deloraine, and Souris, to name a few. Each team will host a tournament in Killarney and will decide as a team, which tournaments they will be attending. Starting at Atom age, many Killarney teams try and win a provincial berth. Over the years many have been successful, and have not only had the privilege of competing at provincials, but have been fortunate enough to come home wearing a medal.
 
The amount of games each team plays varies from team to team, but an average season would be around 30 games. Parents are expected to help with their child's team, with regard to canteen time and gate keeping. Coaches and managers are volunteers and there is always room for extra help.
 
If you are new to town, and have missed our annual meeting, please get in contact with one of the executive listed below, and we will be happy to help point you in the right direction.
 
Season Tournaments - 2013-2014
November 1-3 ~ Bantam
November 23-24 ~ Atom
November 30 - December 1 ~ Pee Wee
January 4 ~ Initiation
January 11  ~ Novice
 
Killarney Minor Hockey believes in sportsmanship, dedication, hard work, and fun!
 
2013-14 Executive
 
Initiation A 
Coach:  John Forbes  john08forbes@hotmail.com
Assist. Coaches:  Dustin Garabed  dgarabed@richardson.ca
                                Andrew Spurrill  m-d-v@live.ca
Manager:  Lorna Garabed  lgarabed@mymts.net
Safety:  Deanna Mador  dmador@mymts.net
Canteen:  Erica Hilhorst  cehilly@mymts.net
Equipment:  Kate Forbes  john08forbes@hotmail.com
Booster:  Jackie Phillips  seanbob@mymts.net
Gate 50/50:  Felicia Kempthorne  brkempthorne@hotmail.com
Timekeeper:  Lorna Garabed  lgarabed@mymts.net
 
Initiation B
Coach:  Bradley Cullen  bradley.cullen@richardson.ca
Assist. Coaches:  Lori-Dee Anderson  loristev@mts.net
                                Jim Svoboda  jsvoboda@feedmaxcorp.com
Manager:  Brenda Svoboda  barney1@mymts.net
Safety:  Jim Svoboda  jsvoboda@feedmaxcorp.com
Canteen:  Jay Struth  jaystruth@hotmail.com
Equipment:  Jacqueline Lockhart  travis1@mts.net
Booster:  Deb McIntyre  dkmc@mymts.net
Timekeeper:  Keith McIntyre  dkmc@mymts.net
 
Novice
Coach:  Shane Cuvelier  shanecuvelier@yahoo.ca
Assist. Coaches:  Michael Bartley  mabartleysons@hotmail.com
                                Tyler Shiels  tyler.sunidaze@gmail.com
Manager:  Steve Sample  stevesample1@gmail.com
Safety:  Darryl Heide  Darryl@goinet.ca
Canteen:  Jacqueline Bartley  jacqbartley@live.com
Equipment:  Julie Sample  stevesample1@gmail.com
Booster:  Brenda Svoboda  barney1@mymts.net
                 Rob MacDonald  macdon1@mymts.net
Gate 50/50:  Deanna Mador  dmador@mymts.net
Timekeeper:  Steve Anderson  loristev@mts.net
 
Atom
Coach:  Cory Hilhorst  cehilly@mymts.net
Assist.  Coaches:  Rick Korman  rkorman@hotmail.com
                                 Cade Phillips  manxcat@mymts.net
Manager:  Sandy Phillips  manxcat@mymts.net
Safety:  Cindy Bergen  cdsimard@yahoo.ca
Canteen:  Deb McIntyre  dkmc@mymts.net
Equipment:  Shelley Debacker  debacker@mts.net
Booster:  Keith McIntyre  dkmc@mymts.net
                 Rob MacDonald  macdon1@mymts.net
Gate 50/50:  Stacey Dyck  ksdyck@inetlink.ca
Timekeeper:  Stacey Dyck  ksdyck@inetlink.ca
 
PeeWee
Coach:  Craig Cline  cmck@mymts.net
Assist. Coaches:  Ken Miller  milken@xplornet.com
                               Jim Bartley  jimbart@mts.net
Manager:  Chris Dobson  ctdobson@mymts.net
Safety:  Jamey Shule  jshule@hotmail.ca
Canteen:  Sheryl Shule  sshule@xplornet.com
                  Meghan Kautz
Equipment:  Troy Cuvelier  cuv66@mymts.net
Booster:  Jackie Phillips  seanbob@mymts.net
                 Tanice Gudnason  tgudnason@tmsd.mb.ca
Gate 50/50:  Marlee Cline  cmck@mymts.net
Timekeeper:  Jamey Shule  jshule@hotmail.ca
 
Bantam
Coach:  Larry Shackel  lshackel@patersongrain.com
Assist. Coaches:  Gavin Vandenbergh  gavshelv@mymts.net
                                Greg Forsythe  blinky@mymts.net
Manager:  Kim Shackel  klshack@mts.net
Safety:  Deb Jackson  chubba222@me.com
Canteen:  Deb Jackson  chubba222@me.com
Equipment:  Cindy Peters  rgp@mymts.net
Booster:  Shelley Vandenberghe  gavshelv@mymts.net
                 Jolene Dodds  joleneed@hotmail.com
Gate 50/50:  Margot Forsythe  blinky@mymts.net
Timekeeper:  Steve Nichol  smnic1@gmail.com